Elon’s Asher Tabbed All-America Honorable Mention by Inside Lacrosse

ELON, N.C. – Elon University women’s lacrosse junior attacker Stephanie Asher has been named an All-America Honorable Mention by Inside Lacrosse, the organization announced Wednesday morning.

This year’s All-America teams are the first released by Inside Lacrosse. The three teams and honorable mentions are compiled by members of the lacrosse media who vote in the weekly Cascade Division I Women’s Media Poll and are in tune with the national college lacrosse landscape week to week. Each team is made up of four attackers, three midfielders, four defenders and a goalie.

Asher’s honor comes on the heels of her record-setting season in 2017. Throughout the year, the Glenelg, Md., native scored 58 goals and had 69 points, topping her previous program records in both categories. The junior recorded 13 hat tricks in 20 games, scoring at least five goals on four different occasions in wins over then-No. 13 Virginia, then-No. 19 Virginia Tech, Campbell and Davidson.

Over the course of the year, Asher was named CAA Player of the Week three times. She is one of just three CAA players – Becky Gohsler of Delaware and Kaitlyn Montalbano of Towson – to earn the honor on multiple occasions, but was the only player to win it multiple times until the final two weeks of the season when Gohsler and Montalbano claimed it on April 24 and May 1, respectively.

A First Team All-CAA honoree for the second year in a row, Asher was also named a Preseason All-CAA honoree and to the conference’s All-Tournament Team while being named to the Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List back in March. Asher is one of four CAA players named to the Inside Lacrosse All-America teams. Haley Warden of James Madison and Olivia Conti of Towson earned Second Team All-America honors and Alyssa Parrella of Hofstra was also tabbed an honorable mention.

One of the team’s captains this year, Asher helped guide the Phoenix to its first-ever conference tournament win – a 10-9 triumph over No. 17 Towson in overtime, where she scored the game-winning goal – and its first appearance in the NCAA Tournament. Elon won 13 games in 2017, the most in program history after winning a then-record 10 games in 2016.

First Team
Attack: Molly Hendrick, North Carolina, Sr.
Attack: Olivia Hompe, Princeton, Sr.
Attack: Michaela Michael, USC, Sr.
Attack: Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook, Jr.
Draw Specialist: Sammy Jo Tracy, North Carolina, Sr.
Midfield: Sarah Martin, Albany, Sr.
Midfield: Marie McCool, North Carolina, Jr.
Midfield: Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland, Sr.
Defense: Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida, Sr.
Defense: Brooke Gubitosi, Stony Brook, R-Jr.
Defense: Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland, Sr.
Defense: Lydia Sutton, USC, Jr.
Goalie: Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton, Sr.

Second Team
Attack: Sam Apuzzo, Boston College, So.
Attack: Steph Lazo, Penn State, Sr.
Attack: Mollie Stevens, Florida, Sr.
Attack: Megan Whittle, Maryland, Jr.
Draw Specialist: Hannah Murphy, UMass, Sr.
Midfield: Jenna Collins, Navy, Jr.
Midfield: Alex Condon, Penn, Jr.
Midfield: Haley Warden, James Madison, Jr.
Defense: Taylor Bresnahan, Florida, Sr.
Defense: Olivia Conti, Towson, Fr.
Defense: Claire Quinn, Northwestern, So.
Defense: Catie Smith, Cornell, Sr.
Goalie: Megan Taylor, Maryland, So.

Third Team
Attack: Sammi Burgess, Florida, Sr.
Attack: Madison Carter, Penn State, So.
Attack: Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame, Sr.
Attack: Kenzie Kent, Boston College, Jr.
Draw Specialist: Shelby Fredericks, Northwestern, Jr.
Midfield: Erica Evans, Canisius, Jr.
Midfield: Katie O’Donnell, Penn State, Jr.
Midfield: Casey Pearsall, Notre Dame, Sr.
Defense: Dempsey Arsenault, Boston College, So.
Defense: Maggie Auslander, North Carolina, Sr.
Defense: Sarah Crowley, UMass, Sr.
Defense: Katy Junior, Penn, So.
Goalie: Paige Soenksen, Colorado, Sr.

Honorable Mention
Attack: Stephanie Asher, Elon, Jr.; Amie Dickson, Cornell, Sr.; Riley Donahue, Syracuse, Jr.; Kali Hartshorn, Maryland, Fr.; Ela Hazar, North Carolina, Jr.; Darby Kiernan, Colorado, Jr.; Kelly Larkin, Navy, Fr.; Taryn Ohlmiller, Stony Brook, Fr.; Emily Rogers-Healion, Penn, Sr.; Lindsey Ronbeck, Florida, So.; Caroline Wannen, Maryland, Sr.

Draw Specialist: Morgan Widner, Syracuse, Fr.; Taylor VanThof, Loyola, So.

Midfield: Jen Giles, Maryland, So.; Maggie Jackson, Virginia, So.; Kerrigan Miller, USC, Fr.; Alyssa Parrella, Hofstra, Fr.; Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins, Sr.; Dorrien Van Dyke, Stony Brook, Sr.

Defense: Julia Braig, Maryland, So.; Sarah Brown, Colorado, Jr.; Amanda Leavell, Princeton, Sr.; Bailey Mathis, Loyola, Sr.; Kaeli O’Connor, Syracuse, Sr.; Maura Schwitter, Duke, Sr.; Cara Trombetta, Florida, Fr.; Jessica Volpe, Stony Brook, Sr.

Goalie: Britt Brown, Penn, Sr.; Brittany Read, Louisville, Jr.; Caylee Waters, North Carolina, Sr.