Elon’s Hames Tops Second Indoor School Record on Final Day at UCS Invite

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Senior Bryanna Hames set her second school record of the indoor season as the Elon University women’s track and field concluded its stay and indoor regular season at the UCS Invite on Saturday, Feb. 17, inside the JDL Fast Track Complex.


Hames threw a 54′ 6.75″ (16.63m) in the weight throw, finishing fifth overall in the event. She broke Charlise Morgan’s five-year record mark of 53′ 8.5″ (16.37m) and qualified for the 2018 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Indoor Championships. The Charlotte, N.C., native now owns the program’s school-record in both the indoor shot put and weight throw, both which she set this season.

The Phoenix’s 4×400-meter relay team finished second overall in the event with a season-best time of 3:55.00. The Elon quartet of Katie Arbogast, Lauren Brzozowski, Gabriela Varisco de Oliveira and Natacha Savioz finished behind fellow Colonial Athletic Association foe William & Mary (3:54.75) in the race.

Arbogast was fourth in the 400-meters with her new personal-best time of 57.63 while Brzozowski joined her in the top-10 of the race with a time of 59.09. Brzozowski was the Phoenix’s top runner in the 200-meters with her season-best time of 26.01 in sixth overall.

Savioz ran a time of 2:16.23 in the 800-meters as the Phoenix’s top runner in the race as she finished seventh overall. Melissa Anastasakis had a season-best time of of 4:54.17 in the one-mile run while Brigid Brennan ran a personal-best time of 4:54.43 and qualified for the ECACs.

Melody Burke tied for the third-best high jump indoor mark in school history as the Concord, Va., native cleared the bar at 5′ 5.75″ (1.67m). She tied for second overall in the event. Burke was also the Phoenix’s highest finisher in the long jump with her leap of 17′ 9.5″ (5.42m) and the triple jump at 37′ 2.25″ (11.33m), finishing fifth in both events.

Select members of the Phoenix will compete next at the 2018 ECAC Indoor Championships beginning on March 1 in Boston.