HPU WLAX Earns Three Year-End Awards, Nine All-Big South Nods

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – No. 17 High Point University women’s lacrosse team’s head coach Lyndsey Boswell, senior Erica Perrotta and freshman Abby Hormes were honored with Big South year-end awards, while nine Panthers were recognized on the all-conference teams, the Big South announced Thursday (April 26).

Perrotta was named the Big South Defensive Player of the Year, while Hormes was honored as the Big South Freshman of the Year. Perrotta is the third Panther to earn Big South Defensive Player of the Year honors, joining Christina Del Sesto (2017) and Jasmine Jordan (2013, 2014). Hormes is the first Panther to earn Big South Freshman of the Year honors.

Boswell, who has led the Panthers to a 14-2 record overall and an undefeated 7-0 record in conference play, was named the Big South Coach of the Year. It is the third-consecutive and fourth time in five years Boswell has earned the honor. It is her fifth overall honor after being named the NLC Coach of the Year in 2011.

HPU earned a program record nine All-Big South selections, including six first-team honorees, the most of any program in the conference.

Perrotta was joined on the All-Big South First Team by fellow senior Olivia Nostrant and Brooke Stevens, junior Samantha Herman and sophomores Ashley Britton and Meredith Chapman. Hormes and redshirt sophomore Hayley Norris were recognized on the All-Big South Second Team, while sophomore Jill Rall was an honorable mention all-conference selection. Stevens was also selected as the Panthers’ member on the Big South All-Academic Team.

Perrotta is High Point’s and the Big South’s first-ever Tewaaraton Award Watch List member and was the Preseason Big South Defensive Player of the Year. She is second on the Panthers with 42 goals, 23 assists and 65 points. She is first on the squad with 35 caused turnovers, which is 18th in the nation.

Hormes leads HPU with 48 goals, which is 20th in the nation and has a 60.0 shot percentage which ranks ninth in the nation. She has recorded 10 hat tricks.

Stevens leads the Panthers with 76 points and 45 assists, which ranks second in the nation. She has seven games this season of six or more points.

Herman has set a single-season school record with 63 draw controls, while adding 28 ground balls, 28 caused turnovers and 23 goals.

Nostrant anchors the Panther defense that has allowed 5.43 goals per conference game and has recorded 28 ground balls and 22 caused turnovers.

Britton has tallied 43 draws (tied for second for HPU), 27 goals (tied for fourth) and 16 ground balls.

Chapman is second on the team with 33 ground balls, tied for second with 43 draw controls and is third with 24 caused turnovers.

Norris is another key defender on the team that has given up 5.43 goals per conference game and has added 26 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers.

Rall has a 13-2 record with a 9.20 goals against average, which ranks 16th in the nation. She has a 6.12 GAA with 29 saves in conference action.

2018 Big South All-Conference Teams

ATT – Nicole Beatson, Sr., Winthrop
ATT – Brooke Stevens, Sr., High Point
ATT – Melissa Placek, Jr., Campbell
MF – Erica Perrotta, Sr., High Point
MF – Katherine Judge, Sr., Winthrop
MF – Samantha Herman, Jr., High Point
MF – Brianna McCaffrey, Jr., Liberty
MF – Callie Bonnel, Jr., Radford
D – Megan Reilly, Sr., Campbell
D – Olivia Nostrant, Sr., High Point
D – Meredith Chapman, R-Soph., High Point
GK – Alaina Girani, R-Jr., Winthrop
AL – Carly White, Soph., MF, Liberty
AL – Ashley Britton, Soph., MF, High Point
AL – Sam Carey, Soph., MF, Campbell

ATT – Kayla Foster, Jr., Liberty
ATT – Riley Dolan, Sr., Longwood
ATT – Kristen Shriver, Sr., Winthrop
MF – Talen Francis, Fr., Gardner-Webb
MF – Molly Barkman, Soph., Longwood
MF – Juliette Ruland, Jr., Radford
MF – Abby Hanscom, Jr., Gardner-Webb
MF – Mia Toscano, Fr., Liberty
D – Lindsey McNamara, Sr., Liberty
D – Hollyn Royster, Sr., Longwood
D – Hayley Norris, R-Soph., High Point
GK – Imani West, Sr., Longwood
AL – Hudson Roarick, Jr., D, Presbyterian
AL – Abby Hormes, Fr., ATT, High Point
AL – Kayla Reilly, Sr., ATT, Campbell

Monique Martin, Sr., D, Gardner-Webb
Jill Rall, Soph., GK, High Point
Amanda Chasin, Jr., D, Campbell
Amanda Steinmuller, Sr., ATT, Gardner-Webb
(tie) Hannah Quast, Soph., MF, Liberty
(tie) Michaela Rich, R-Sr., ATT, Liberty

Mackenzie Koeller, Sr., ATT, Campbell
Abby Hanscom, Jr., MF, Gardner-Webb
Brooke Stevens, Sr., ATT, High Point
Kayla Foster, Jr., ATT, Liberty
Dana Joss, Soph., MF, Longwood
Kelty Fletcher, Sr., ATT, Presbyterian College
Jenny Davis, Soph., GK, Radford
Jordyn Elliott, Sr., D/MF, Winthrop

Nicole Beatson, Sr., ATT, Winthrop

Erica Perrotta, Sr., MF, High Point

Abby Hormes, ATT, High Point

Lyndsey Boswell, High Point

Mackenzie Koeller, Sr., ATT, Campbell