Elon Football’s Foster Named to 2019 FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

ELON, N.C. – Elon University football’s senior tight end Matt Foster has been named a member of the prestigious 2019 Athletic Directors Association Academic All-Star Team. One of six athletes from the CAA honored, Foster helps the conference to the second-most representatives of any conference in the country. Across the nation, 53 athletes earned the distinction.

Off the field, Foster is an Engineering major and is set to graduate with Elon’s first four-year cohort of Engineering graduates in May. He and Elon baseball student-athlete Michael Borucki recently received a provisional U.S. patent in January 2019 and are set to file for the permanent utility patent for a project they’re developing to help tobacco users and vapers quit. On the field, Foster was named a 2019 First Team All-CAA Football honoree after hauling in a record for the most receiving yards by a tight end in Elon’s Division I era with 246 on 19 receptions across 10 games.

Foster is the 10th FCS ADA All-Star honoree in program history and marks Elon’s first since 2015 when Miles Williams was named to the squad. Brandon Mason and A.J. Harris hold six of Elon’s 10 honors, each claiming the honor three times throughout their careers.

Football players from all FCS institutions were eligible for the honor with each nominee required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletic credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at their designated institution.

“One of the more difficult responsibilities of the FCS ADA is selecting the annual Academic All-Star Team,” state current FCS ADA President Kent Haslam, director of athletics at the University of Montana. “The reason being is there are so many worthy candidates. This year was no different. The accomplishments of this group of young men are truly remarkable. They excel on the field, in the classroom and in their communities. I congratulate them, along with all those who have provided critical support along the way, on this tremendous honor.”

Foster was joined on the team by Towson’s Tom Flacco, New Hampshire’s Cameron Brusko and Josh Kania and Albany’s Levi Metheny and Jerah Reeves. Flacco was named one of 10 finalists for the annual FCS ADA $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships when the FCS ADA meets during the 2020 NACDA Convention in July.