Elon Men’s Soccer Places Three On All-CAA Postseason Teams

RICHMOND, VA. – The Elon University men’s soccer team had three members of its program earn postseason recognition from the Colonial Athletic Association the league office announced on Thursday, April 15.

The Phoenix saw Jeppe Jordoson and Vemund Hole Vik each tabbed as All-CAA Second Team performers, while Mattias Cooper garnered All-CAA Third Team honors.

“These three players have consistently performed at a high-level and are well deserving of making the All-Conference teams,” head coach Marc Reeves began. “We are happy they have received this recognition, but I do think we have a couple of other guys who also had a strong spring season and would have been worthy recipients. The CAA is a strong nine-team league with a lot of good players. Deservedly so, the teams that made the Final Four from the two divisions are featured heavily, and again, it reinforces that team success will always impact individual accolades. This was a very different spring semester, and as a young group we learned a great deal. I believe we benefited from dealing with all of the different situations that we faced, and that it can aid this group’s development to be ready for the Fall.”

In his second season with Elon, sophomore Vemund Hole Vik picked up All-CAA Second Team honors after playing in six games this season. Hole Vik started in five of those games, registering one shot in 473 minutes of action. This marks the first All-CAA postseason honor of Hole Vik’s career.

Sophomore Jeppe Jordoson also earned All-CAA Second Team honors after starting in all six of the matches he played in. Jordoson rounded out the season with five shots, including three on goal, in a career-best 549 minutes of action. His 549 minutes played also ranked third on the team overall for the 2020-21 season. For his play, Jordoson was named to an All-CAA postseason team for the first time in his collegiate career.

Mattias Cooper rounded out the All-CAA honorees for the Phoenix, garnering Third Team honors for his play this season. Cooper led Elon in games played and started (7), total points (6), goals (2) and assists (2). The sophomore played his best soccer of the season down the stretch, logging an assist in Elon’s 1-0 win against Charleston before dropping a goal and an assist in the Phoenix’s 2-1 win over William & Mary in its season finale. This marks the second consecutive year in which Cooper has been named to an All-CAA postseason team after earning All-Rookie honors last season.

A full list of this year’s award winners is included below.

All-CAA First Team

F – Laolu Daranijo, Drexel
F – Chris Donovan, Drexel
F – Matthew Vowinkel, Hofstra
MF – Jacob Evans, UNCW
MF – Alexander Levengood, William & Mary
MF – Colton Pleasants, UNCW
D – Melker Anshelm, James Madison
D – Thomas Judge, James Madison
D – George O’Malley, Hofstra
D – Jaden Strumeier, UNCW
GK – TJ Bush, James Madison

All-CAA Second Team
F – Timmy Ennin, Northeastern
F- Luca Erhardt, James Madison
MF – Axel Ahlander, James Madison
MF – Alfredo Bozalongo, William & Mary
MF – Jeppe Jordoson, Elon
MF – Storm Strongin, Hofstra
D – Pedro Barbolla, Delaware
D – Tyler Clegg, James Madison
D – Peter Dearle, Charleston
D – Vemund Hole Vik, Elon
GK – Gabriel Perrotta, UNCW

All-CAA Third Team
F – Ryan Carmichael, Hofstra
F – Mattias Cooper, Elon
MF – Athit Berg, UNCW
MF – Benni Klingen, Northeastern
MF – Kyle Tucker, Drexel
MF – Marcos Villeda, William & Mary
D – Aron Adalsteinsson, Delaware
D – Joe Core, William & Mary
D – Michael Hornsby, UNCW
GK – Cameron Smith, Charleston
GK – Renan Thomazo, Delaware

Player of the Year: Laolu Daranijo, Drexel
Defensive Player of the Year: TJ Bush, James Madison
Rookie of the Year: Axel Ahlander, James Madison
Coach of the Year: Paul Zazenski, James Madison