Guilford Men’s Golf: NCAA Announces 2021 Division III Men’s Golf Championship Field

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2021 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships.

The championships, which will be held May 11-14 at Oglebay, in Wheeling, WV and will be hosted by Bethany College and the Presidents’ Athletic Conference. The team and individual champions will be determined after 72 holes of play or the conclusion of the last fully completed round. Thirty-seven teams and six individuals not on one of those teams will be selected to participate in the championships. After 36 holes of competition, the field will be cut to the top 18 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams.

A total of 191 participants will compete at the 2021 championships. Thirty conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships. Four teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final three berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The six individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team. Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2021 championships:

RECAPPING GUILFORD’S AUTOMATIC BERTH: The Guilford golf team claimed its 18th ODAC Championship on Tuesday, April 26th, when the Quakers finished 20-over-par with a combined score of 884. Guilford, the No. 1 ranked team in the NCAA Division III ranks according to, was two strokes better than No. 24 Hampden-Sydney (+22) and 13 shots better than No. 21 Washington & Lee, which finished 33-over-par.

The five players that made up the Guilford scorecard all finished inside the Top-15 and four of those individuals were among the Top-10 on the leaderboard.

The top individual for the Quakers was James Mishoe, who placed second with a 4-under-par score of 212. Mishoe, who capped off the tournament with scores of 73, 73 and 66, completed second round with three birdies and 12 pars en route to a 1-over-par score. He followed that with a third-round 66, the lowest of the final round by any player on the course, which came by virtue of seven birdies and 10 pars.

Mishoe was just one shot off the pace established by individual title winner Hunter Martin (Hampden-Sydney), who was 5-under-par with a score of 211 (73-69-69). His third-round 69 was the second-lowest to Mishoe on the course, which allowed him to maintain his holding atop the leaderboard.

Louis Lambert and teammate Sam Davidson were among the Top-10 finishers, placing themselves in a three-way tie for eighth. Lambert closed out the tournament 9-over-par with a score of 225 after posting scores of 76, 74 and 75. His second-round scorecard consisted of two birdies and 13 pars and he followed that with two birdies and 11 pars in the final round of play.

Davidson, who also posted a 9-over-par score of 225, fired rounds of 74. 74 and 77 in succession. Davidson concluded the second round with three birdies and 11 pars and followed that performance with a final round 77. His third round consisted of 12 pars along with birdies at the sixth and 11th greens.

Addison Manring was the only Quaker outside the Top-10, finishing in a three-way tie for 11th with a 10-over-par score of 226 (76-74-76). Manring posted 16 pars in the second round including eight on both the front and back nine. In the final round he tallied a pair of birdies on the 10th and 16th green, along with an eagle at 11, while draining nine pars.

Conferences Receiving Automatic Qualification Berths (30)
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference – Pennsylvania State Univ. Erie, The Behrend College
American Rivers Conference – Nebraska Wesleyan
American Southwest Conference – Mary Hardin-Baylor
Centennial Conference – Franklin & Marshall
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin – Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference – Rosemont
Commonwealth Coast Conference – Western New England
Empire 8 – Utica
Great Northeast Athletic Conference – Albertus Magnus
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference – Rose-Hulman
Landmark Conference – Catholic
Liberty League – Rensselaer Polytechnic
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association – Trine
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth – York College (Pennsylvania)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom – Stevens Institute of Technology
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – St. John’s (Minnesota)
New England Small College Athletic Conference – Trinity (Connecticut)
North Atlantic Conference – Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference – Denison
North Eastern Athletic Conference – Pennsylvania College of Technology
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference – Aurora
Northwest Conference – Willamette
Ohio Athletic Conference – Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference – Guilford
Presidents’ Athletic Conference – Westminster PA
Skyline Conference – Farmingdale State
Southern Athletic Association – South – Sewanee
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Webster
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference – Wisconsin-Superior
USA South Athletic Conference – Piedmont

Pool B Berths (4)
Trinity Texas
Carnegie Mellon
Christopher Newport

Pool C Berths (3)
St. Thomas Minnesota

Individuals (6)
Kevin Burris, Pfeiffer
Cameron Starr, LaGrange
Lane Roye, McMurry
Jacob Pedersen, Gustavus Adolphus
Declan Hickton, Rochester
Pierce Robinson, Washington & Lee

With the 2020 DIII Men’s Golf Championships canceled last year, we recognize Illinois Wesleyan, who claimed its first national title in school history at the 2019 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships, finishing just three shots ahead of runner-up Huntingdon. Sam Goldenring of Williams earned medalist honors finishing two shots ahead of runner-up Josh Gibson of Hope. The 2019 championships were played at Keene Trace Golf Club, in Nicholasville, Kentucky and were hosted by Transylvania University.