Elon Softball Places Five on All-CAA Teams

RICHMOND, Va. – The Elon University softball team had five members of its program selected to the All-Colonial Athletic Association teams as the league office announced its postseason awards on Tuesday, May 11.

Senior Ally Repko highlighted the Phoenix’s quintet with her All-CAA first team selection. Graduate student Alexa Nemeth, junior Rebecca Murray and sophomore Megan Grant were placed on the second team while Gabi Schaal was an All-Rookie team choice.

Repko leads the Phoenix in home runs (nine), RBI (29) while batting .333 on the season. The Broadway, Va., native ranks in the top-10 in the CAA in RBI, home runs, slugging percentage (.688), on-base percentage (.500) and walks (29). She became the Phoenix’s all-time career Division leader in walks and moved to third all-time in program history in career home runs this season. During CAA play, Repko is batting .405 on the year.

Nemeth is 6-4 overall this season in the circle with a 3.73 ERA, both second on the team. The Mooresville, N.C., native has raised her game during league play, going 5-1 with a 2.58 ERA including getting the complete game victory in Elon’s 5-4 win over James Madison on March 27, handing the Dukes its lone loss so far in 2021. Nemeth has also struck out 36 batters this season.

Murray leads the Phoenix with a .354 average along with her 40 hits and seven doubles. The Indian Trail, N.C., native has a team-best 10 multi-hit contests this season and is tied for the longest hit streak on the season at nine games. Murray has also been solid in patrolling center field for the Phoenix this season, posting a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage in her 70 chances.

Grant has come on strong during CAA play, hitting .419 versus league foes while also riding a current nine-game hit streak. Overall, the Vinton, Va., native is batting .309 on the year with 16 RBI. She is also seventh in the CAA in walks with 19.

Schaal has started 33 of 35 games this season in her rookie campaign, ranking second on the team in home runs (seven), RBI (21), doubles (four) while hitting .288 on the season. The Lakeland, Fla., native is second on the team in multi-RBI games with six and is third in multi-hit contests with seven. She had a pair of home runs in the Phoenix’s 5-4 win over JMU on March 27.

Elon will be in action at the CAA Softball Championships beginning on Wednesday, May 12, as the No. 3 seed facing No. 2 seed Drexel. The start of that game is slated for 2 p.m. at Veterans Memorial Park on the campus of James Madison University.

2021 CAA Softball Postseason Awards

CAA Softball First Team
Catcher: Jada Santiago, UNCW
First Base: Kristi DiMeo, Drexel
Second Base: Madison Naujokas, James Madison
Third Base: Lynsey Meeks, James Madison
Shortstop: Linda Rush, Drexel
Outfielder: Hanna Garber, Delaware
Outfielder: Kate Gordon, James Madison
Outfielder: Jaycee Ruberti, Hofstra
Designated Player/Utility/Non-Pitcher: Ally Repko, Elon
Utility/Pitcher: Odicci Alexander, James Madison
Pitcher: Brooklyn Daly, Drexel
Pitcher: Alissa Humphrey, James Madison

CAA Softball Second Team
Catcher: Devyn Losco, Hofstra
First Base: Janel Gamache, UNCW
First Base: Brooke Glanden, Delaware
Second Base: Brittney Mendoza, Delaware
Third Base: Chole Poulich, Towson
Shortstop: Sara Jubas, James Madison
Outfielder: Megan Grant, Elon
Outfielder: Rebecca Murray, Elon
Outfielder: Logan Newton, James Madison
Outfielder: Reilly Jo Swanson, Drexel
Designated Player/Utility/Non-Pitcher: Hallie Hall, James Madison
Utility/Pitcher: Logan Bjorson, UNCW
Pitcher: Alexa Nemeth, Elon
Pitcher: Emily Winburn, Delaware

CAA Player of the Year: Linda Rush, Drexel
CAA Pitcher of the Year: Odicci Alexander, James Madison
CAA Defensive Player of the Year: Madison Naujokas, James Madison
CAA Rookie of the Year: Alissa Humphrey, James Madison
CAA Coach of the Year: Loren LaPorte, James Madison

CAA All-Rookie Team
Julz Garber, Delaware
Hallie Hall, James Madison
Alissa Humphrey, James Madison
Mackenzie Lake, Towson
Chelsea Manto, Hofstra
Lexi Moore, Delaware
Emily Phillips, James Madison
Gabi Schaal, Elon
Tayler Vitola, UNCW
Emily Winburn, Delaware