HiToms Pitch Their Way to 21st Win of the Season

HiToms Pitch Their Way to 21st Win of the Season

High Point/Thomasville, NC – The High Point-Thomasville HiToms used a dominant pitching trio to win for the eighth time in the Deep River Series on Thursday night at McCrary Park in Asheboro. Will Lancaster retired the first fourteen batters he faced, setting the tone for a narrow 3-2 win.

After recently announcing his transfer to Charlotte, Lancaster dealt six strong innings, allowing just two runs with five strikeouts. With the additional strikeouts, Lancaster moved into fourth place on the Coastal Plain League strikeout leaderboard, passing Martinsville’s Caleb McRoy.

Tristan Snyder and KJ Wells relieved Lancaster, dotting fastballs for HP-T’s bullpen. Louisburg’s Snyder picked up the hold, allowing just one hits across two innings. Former Louisburg teammate KJ Wells followed with his second straight save of the season, sliding his ERA down to 0.82, the seventh-lowest mark amongst CPL pitchers with over ten innings thrown.

On the offensive end, the HiToms were efficient, scoring three runs on just two hits. Von Seibert was hit by a pitch to lead off the second inning, scoring the game’s first run after three wild pitches from Copperheads pitcher Connor Godwin.

In the fourth, the HiToms offense was started by a similar Von Seibert HBP. Against a new pitcher, Thomas Caufield slashed a fly ball over the right field fence for his eighth home run of the season. Caufield has hit six home runs this month, raising his profile as one of the best power bats in the Coastal Plain League.

The HiToms return tomorrow to Finch Field for an eventful Friday at Finch Field. The HiToms will play two seven-inning games against the Forest City Owls. First pitch for game one is at 4:30pm. Following game two, the HiToms will have a fireworks show at Finch Field, presented by the Thomasville Chamber of Commerce.

Can’t make it to Finch Field? Watch the HiToms live on the web at flobaseball.tv.

Courtesy of Shaemus Kreider HiToms Director of Media