Major League Baseball has added the new ‘Shohei Ohtani Rule’

MLB adds new ‘Shohei Ohtani Rule’
from Larry Brown Sports, with Larry Brown, and from

**********MLB has added a new “Shohei Ohtani Rule” to the Collective Bargaining Agreement that will take effect in 2022.**********

MLB’s new CBA includes several rule additions or modifications. According to the New York Post’s Joel Sherman, one of the new rules allows a pitcher to remain in the game as the designated hitter even after they are removed from their start as a pitcher. Previously, teams would have to remove the pitcher from the batting lineup after they were removed as a pitcher.

This rule is very clearly aimed to help the Los Angeles Angels and Ohtani, and is being dubbed the “Shohei Ohtani Rule.”

Last season, one of the challenges the Angels faced when Ohtani pitched was the possibility of losing his valuable bat once they removed him from his start as a pitcher. Sometimes they would briefly move him to the outfield in order to keep his bat in the lineup late in games. Now, that will no longer be necessary.

Sherman says the aim of the rule is not just to help Ohtani, but to promote the use of more two-way players in MLB. In addition to Ohtani, there are other players, such as Rays prospect Brendan McKay, who have showed promise as two-way players. This rule would allow more avenues for pitchers to hit.