HPU Athletics Hosts Annual Pawscars Awards Ceremony

HIGH POINT, N.C. — Graduate student Asher Nolting and sophomore Sydney Horn were named High Point University’s Athletes of the Year as the Pawscars, the Panthers’ student-athlete awards ceremony, was held Monday evening (April 25) at the Nido Qubein Conference Center.

Nolting currently has 339 career points and sits 10th all-time in career points in College Lacrosse. He is two assists away from becoming the eighth collegiate lacrosse player to eclipse 200 career assists. He has most recently been named as a nominee for the Tewaaraton and is the most decorated player in the history of the program.

Horn has earned All- American honors at all three NCAA National Championships she’s been eligible for in her young career. Horn finished as the National Runner-Up in the women’s pole vault final at the 2022 indoor NCAA Track and Field Championships. Horn set a lifetime best of 4.46m which is a school record and a Big South Conference record. The National Runner-Up finish is the highest finish for any Panther ever at an NCAA

Junior Maria Miggins (volleyball) took home the Tobias Scholar-Athlete Award, while senior Antonio Arcona (men’s lacrosse) earned the E. Vance Davis Scholar-Athlete Award.

Junior Pia Cavallaro (women’s lacrosse) was named the Breakout Athlete of the Year, while Zach Austin (men’s basketball) was honored as the Freshman of the Year. The women’s soccer team’s overtime win against Campbell in the Big South championship was voted High Point’s Game of the Year.

Seniors Mackenzi Thornburg (volleyball) and Ricky Ceballos (men’s soccer) were voted the department’s Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year, respectively, by High Point’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

For excellence in the area of strength and conditioning, the Iron Panther of the Year Awards went to sophomore Grady Newton (men’s golf) and redshirt senior Lexi Crompton (women’s track & field). The Iron Cubs of the Year were freshmen Jenny Wessling (volleyball) and freshman Mason Lazasz (men’s lacrosse).

Athletic Director Dan Hauser gave highlights of High Point University’s 2020-21 school year. All of HPU’s seniors have earned rings provided by the Panther Club.


Male Athlete of the Year
Asher Nolting – Men’s Lacrosse

Female Athlete of the Year
Sydney Horn – Women’s Track & Field

Tobias Scholar-Athlete Award
Maria Miggins – Volleyball

E. Vance Davis Scholar-Athlete Award
Antonio Arcona – Men’s Lacrosse

Game of the Year
Women’s Soccer overtime victory against Campbell in the Big South Championship

Freshman of the Year
Zach Austin – Men’s Basketball

Breakout Athlete of the Year
Pia Cavallaro – Women’s Lacrosse

Sportswoman of the Year
Mackenzi Thornburg – Volleyball

Sportsman of the Year
Ricky Ceballos – Men’s Soccer

Iron Panther – Male
Grady Newton – Men’s Golf

Iron Panther – Female
Lexi Crompton – Women’s Track & Field

Iron Cub – Male
Mason Lazasz – Men’s Lacrosse

Iron Cub – Female
Jenny Wessling – Women’s Lacrosse

Panther Cup Winners (Team MVPs)
Sam Garcia, Baseball
John-Michael Wright, Men’s Basketball
Hocine Bouchrak, Men’s Cross Country,
Christain Castillo, Men’s Golf
Asher Nolting, Men’s Lacrosse
Lalas Ayertey, Men’s Soccer
Chris Van Niekerk, Men’s Indoor Track & Field
Deron Dudley, Men’s Outdoor Track & Field
Jenson Edwards, Women’s Basketball
Lindsey Ickes, Women’s Cross Country
Danielle Suh, Women’s Golf
Abby Hormes, Women’s Lacrosse
Skyler Prillaman, Women’s Soccer
Dylan Maberry, Women’s Volleyball
Sydney Horn, Women’s Indoor/Outdoor Track and Field