2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Finalists Announced

2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® Finalists Announced
ESPN to broadcast exclusive show unveiling Gold Glove winners Tuesday, Nov. 1

ST. LOUIS, MO –Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc., announced the finalists for the 2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Award®, honoring the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League® and National League®. The winners will be unveiled during a one-hour, special-edition “Baseball Tonight” broadcast on ESPN Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2022, at 5 p.m. ET. The show will air on-field prior to game four of the MLB® World Series from the National League host ballpark.

While the award originated in 1957, Rawlings first began highlighting the top-three defenders at each position as finalists in 2011. This season, the Arizona Diamondbacks, Cleveland Guardians and New York Yankees are tied for the most finalists, with five positions per team.

This year also marks the first time utility players have been included in the list of Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists. Rawlings announced the addition of the utility role to the list of Award recipients last month.

“The 2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists perfectly represent an unforgettable and exciting season of baseball marked by amazing displays of defense,” said Mike Thompson, chief marketing officer of Rawlings. “Rawlings congratulates all of the deserving finalists, and we can’t wait to name the next class of winners deemed ‘the Finest in the Field®’.”

To determine the winners of the 18 defensive position Awards, each team’s manager and up to six coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their League and cannot vote for players from their own team. In 2013, Rawlings added the SABR Defensive Index™ (SDI) to the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process, which comprises approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, with the managers’ and coaches’ votes continuing to carry the majority.

To identify the utility Award winners, Rawlings collaborated with SABR to create a specialized defensive formula separate from the traditional selection process for the Rawlings Gold Glove Award position winners. Utilizing the SABR formula and additional defensive statistics, Rawlings will select one utility winner from each League.

The 2022 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists are:


Position	        Player	        Team
P	                José Berríos	Toronto Blue Jays
                        Shane Bieber	Cleveland Guardians
                        Jameson Taillon	New York Yankees
C	                Jose Trevino	New York Yankees
                        Cal Raleigh	Seattle Mariners
                        Sean Murphy	Oakland Athletics
1B	                Anthony Rizzo	New York Yankees
                        Vladimir Guerrero Jr.	Toronto Blue Jays
                        Luis Arraez	Minnesota Twins
2B	                Jonathan Schoop	Detroit Tigers
                        Marcus Semien	Texas Rangers
                        Andrés Giménez	Cleveland Guardians
3B	                Matt Chapman	Toronto Blue Jays
                        Ramón Urías	Baltimore Orioles
                        José Ramírez	Cleveland Guardians
SS	                Xander Bogaerts	Boston Red Sox
                        Jeremy Peña	Houston Astros
                        Carlos Correa	Minnesota Twins
LF	                Brandon Marsh	Los Angeles Angels/Philadelphia Phillies
                        Andrew Benintendi	Kansas City Royals/New York Yankees
                        Steven Kwan	Cleveland Guardians
CF	                Myles Straw	Cleveland Guardians
                        Cedric Mullins 	Baltimore Orioles
                        Michael A. Taylor	Kansas City Royals 
RF	                Max Kepler	Minnesota Twins
                        Jackie Bradley Jr.	Boston Red Sox/Toronto Blue Jays
                        Kyle Tucker	Houston Astros
Utility	                Whit Merrifield	Kansas City Royals/Toronto Blue Jays
                        DJ LeMahieu	New York Yankees
                        Luis Rengifo	Los Angeles Angels


Position	        Player	        Team
P	                Max Fried	Atlanta Braves
                        Tyler Anderson	Los Angeles Dodgers
                        Corbin Burnes	Milwaukee Brewers
C	                Tomás Nido	New York Mets
                        Travis d'Arnaud	Atlanta Braves
                        J.T. Realmuto	Philadelphia Phillies
1B	                Matt Olson	Atlanta Braves
                        Paul Goldschmidt	St. Louis Cardinals
                        Christian Walker	Arizona Diamondbacks
2B	                Tommy Edman	St. Louis Cardinals
                        Brendan Rodgers	Colorado Rockies
                        Jake Cronenworth	San Diego Padres
3B	                Nolan Arenado	St. Louis Cardinals
                        Ryan McMahon	Colorado Rockies
                        Ke'Bryan Hayes	Pittsburgh Pirates
SS	                Ha-Seong Kim	San Diego Padres
                        Dansby Swanson	Atlanta Braves
                        Miguel Rojas	Miami Marlins
LF	                Ian Happ	Chicago Cubs
                        David Peralta	Arizona Diamondbacks/Tampa Bay Rays
                        Christian Yelich	Milwaukee Brewers
CF	                Victor Robles	Washington Nationals
                        Trent Grisham	San Diego Padres
                        Alek Thomas	Arizona Diamondbacks
RF	                Mookie Betts	Los Angeles Dodgers
                        Juan Soto	Washington Nationals/San Diego Padres
                        Daulton Varsho	Arizona Diamondbacks
Utility	                Brendan Donovan	St. Louis Cardinals
                        Tommy Edman	St. Louis Cardinals
                        Daulton Varsho	Arizona Diamondbacks

The 2022 finalists include nine former Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in the American League and 10 former winners in the National League.

Following the Rawlings Gold Glove Award televised announcement special on ESPN, Tuesday, Nov. 1, fans can vote for their favorite defensive player in each League to determine who will be named the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™ winners. A combination of the national fan vote and the SDI will determine who takes home the honor.

Voting for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award presented by SABR will begin online at www.Rawlings.com on Tuesday, Nov. 1, at 6 p.m. ET and will remain open until Wednesday, Nov. 9, at 11:59 p.m. ET. The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners will be unveiled at the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony at the Plaza Hotel in New York City, on Friday, Nov. 11.

About the Rawlings Gold Glove Award®
The Rawlings Gold Glove Award® is a registered trademark owned by Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. The award is correctly identified as the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. The name should not be shortened, abbreviated, or otherwise misused. Proper identification of this service mark using the registration symbol and the Rawlings name is important to protect the integrity of the program and perpetuate this worthy tradition. For more information, please visit www.Rawlings.com.

About Rawlings
Established in 1887, Rawlings is an innovative leading global brand and manufacturer of premium baseball and softball equipment, including gloves, balls, and protective headwear. Rawlings’ unparalleled quality, innovative engineering and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Baseball, Helmet, Face Guard and Glove of Major League Baseball, the Official Baseball of Minor League Baseball and the Official Baseball and Softball of the NCAA and the NAIA. The company is headquartered in St. Louis. For more information, please visit www.Rawlings.com.

For more information, please contact:
Lindsey Naber