MLB finalizes 2024 Home Run Derby participants and former Greensboro Grasshopper Marcell Ozuna is on the list

MLB finalizes 2024 Home Run Derby participants
Originally posted on MLB Trade Rumors, with Anthony Franco, and from

Major League Baseball has finalized the eight-person field for Monday’s Home Run Derby. The full list of participants:

Mets 1B Pete Alonso
Phillies 3B Alec Bohm
Rangers OF Adolis García
Orioles SS Gunnar Henderson
Dodgers OF Teoscar Hernández
Braves DH Marcell Ozuna(member of the Greensboro Grasshoppers’ SAL Championship team back in 2011)
Guardians 3B José Ramírez
Royals SS Bobby Witt Jr.
Alonso and García return from last year’s event. The New York first baseman is in the event for the fifth consecutive time. Alonso won back-to-back times in 2019-21 (there was no Derby in 2020 because of the pandemic) but has successively been knocked out by Julio Rodríguez in the last two events.

García was dropped by Randy Arozarena in the first round last year. Vladimir Guerrero Jr. won the event but decided not to try to defend his title.

This year’s festivities are taking place at Arlington’s Globe Life Field. Under the collective bargaining agreement, the Derby winner will receive $1M. The runner-up takes home $500K, while every other participant receives $150K. The player who hits the longest home run wins $100K.

This year’s event involves a few rule changes, as Buster Olney of ESPN recently wrote. The first round no longer features head-to-head matchups. The top four home run hitters will move to the second round, with the longest homer serving as a tiebreaker.

MLB is also limiting hitters to 40 swings per round and is changing the bonus round from a clock to a limit of three outs (four if a player hit a 425-foot homer in the bonus round).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.