Ron Simmons to the College Football Hall of Fame…

Ron Simmons, Florida State nose guard has been selected to the College Football Hall of Fame. Simmons, played nose guard for Florida State in the early 1980’s and was a finalist for the Heisman Trophy in his senior year. Simmons was a four year starter and his number 50 jersey has been retired by the school. Simmons was the first African-American WCW World Heavyweight Wrestling Champion and was a multiple time WWF World Tag Team Champion.

Troy Aikman, Billy Cannon and Lou Holtz headline the induction class that also includes Virginia offensive tackle Jim Dombrowski; Northwestern linebacker Pat Fitzgerald; Florida linebacker Wilber Marshall; Washington State running back Ruben Mayes; Arizona State guard Randall McDaniel; Syracuse quarterback Don McPherson; Wyoming tight end Jay Novacek; Texas Tech split end Dave Parks; Oklahoma State running back Thurman Thomas, and Army quarterback Arnold Tucker.

John Cooper is the other coach selected for induction.