Greensboro Garners Fourth Straight Club Merit Award

Donald Moore, Allison Moore Collect Individual Honors from Sally League

GREENSBORO – For the fourth consecutive season the Greensboro Grasshoppers have been selected to receive the South Atlantic League’s Club Merit Award, president Eric Krupa announced today.

The league has also honored Hoppers’ President and General Manager Donald Moore as its General Manager of the Year for a fourth straight year. Greensboro’s Allison Moore earned Community Relations Director of the Year honors.

“It is extremely humbling to be selected for an award like this by your peers,” said Donald Moore. “We are certainly proud of our accomplishments, but we are continuously trying to improve.”

Both individual honors and the team’s Club Merit Award will officially be presented on Oct. 7 at the South Atlantic League Fall Meetings to be held at the Charleston Marriott Town Center in Charleston, W.Va.

In 2008, the Grasshoppers led the league in overall attendance by welcoming 440,787 fans through the gates of NewBridge Bank Park. Since the Hoppers’ inception in 2005, the club has drawn over 1,700,000 fans, having drawn over 400,000 for four years straight.

The league also announced several other awards, including:

Club Merit Award: Greensboro Grasshoppers and Greenville Drive

General Manager of the Year: Donald Moore (GBO) and Mike Dunn (ROM)

Female Executive of the Year: Carol Gehr (HAG)

Media Relations Director of the Year: Craig Deas (LCO)

Sales Executive of the Year: Harold Craw (CHA) and Luke Kuboushek (LEX)

Community Relations Director of the Year: Allison Moore (GRE)

Sports Turf Manager of the Year: Greg Burgess (GRE)

Best Playing Field Award: Flour Field at the West End (GRE)

Athletic Trainer of the Year: Patrick Wesley (DEL)

Bat Person of the Year: Anthony Odom (KAN) and Griffin Worley (ROM)

*****from Justin Stottlemyre Hoppers’ media assistant****