Aaron Toomey(Bishop McGuinness HS) named Rookie of the Year in the NESCAC

Meehan Earns All-NESCAC Selection; Toomey Named Top Rookie

AMHERST, MA – Amherst College point guards Conor Meehan ’11 (Meriden, CT)
and Aaron Toomey ’14 (Greensboro, NC) were recognized when the NESCAC
announced its 2011 Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team today, with Meehan
landing on the First Team and Toomey earning Rookie of the Year honors.

Meehan developed a reputation as one of the conference’s best players after
exceptional sophomore and junior seasons, but the addition of Toomey has
given Amherst one of the most dynamic backcourts in Division III. Fans knew
they were in for a treat when the two players combined for 49 points during
a 90-89 overtime win against Maine-Farmington in the Nov. 19 season opener.
Meehan totaled 28 points and eight boards in that game, while Toomey poured
in 21 points in his collegiate debut, as both guards were selected to the
Ken Wright ’52 Memorial Invitational All-Tournament Team.

Meehan and Toomey have put up similar numbers this year, ranking either
first or second on the team in scoring, assists and free throw percentage,
while each player is shooting 38 percent from three-point range. They are
both exceptional rebounders and defenders, combining for 2.5 steals and
nearly eight boards per game. Each has been named NESCAC Player of the Week
twice this season, as Toomey became the first player in conference history
to earn the honor twice as a first-year.

Starting in all 25 games as a co-captain, Meehan ranks 12th in the NESCAC in
scoring (13.2 ppg), second in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.2), sixth in
assists per game (3.6), third in free throw percentage (85.7) and 15th in
steals (1.0). He has scored at least 10 points in 20 games and at least 20
points in four outings, leaving him 27th on the program’s all-time scoring
list (945) and fourth in assists (333).

During a dominant three-game stretch that featured 20-point performances
against Tufts, Bates and Brandeis, Meehan averaged 21.7 points while
shooting 67.7 percent overall (21-of-31), 71.4 percent from beyond the arc
(5-of-7) and 94.7 percent at the line (18-of-19). He has been on fire from
the charity stripe as of late, connecting on 30 of his past 32 attempts

Toomey is the first Lord Jeff to win the NESCAC Rookie of the Year award
outright, as Andrew Olson ’08 shared the honor in 2005. Among the
conference’s first-year players, Toomey leads the way in steals per game
(1.5) and free throw percentage (.879), also ranking second in scoring (12.0
ppg), assists per game (3.4), assist-to-turnover ratio (1.7) and
three-pointers made per game (1.5). He has scored 20 points or more on five
occasions, and in conference games he averaged 12.6 points while shooting 50
percent from long range (14-of-28).

The first true test of Toomey’s career came on Jan. 8 against Williams, when
he racked up 21 points, eight rebounds and five assists during a 92-89
overtime victory against the Ephs. During an impressive stretch of five
conference games, Toomey averaged 16.8 points, 3.2 assists and 3.6 boards
while shooting 63.9 percent from the floor (23-of-36), 72.7 percent from
three-point range (8-of-11) and 90.9 percent at the line (30-of-33). He is
on pace to break the 15-year-old program record for single-season free throw
percentage (.868, John Pavelski ’98) and is 62 points shy of tying the
school record for first-year scoring (363 points, John Pavelski ’98).

Middlebury’s Jeff Brown was voted NESCAC Coach of the Year for leading his
team to the conference title, while Panther center Andrew Locke ’11 was
named Defensive Player of the Year. Williams center Troy Whittington ’11 was
selected Player of the Year, also joining teammate James Wang ’12 on the
All-Conference First Team.

*All-NESCAC First Team*
G – Conor Meehan ’11 (Amherst)
G – James Wang ’12 (Williams)
F – Will Hanley ’12 (Bowdoin)
F – Ryan Sharry ’12 (Middlebury)
C – Troy Whittington ’11 (Williams)

*All-NESCAC Second Team*
G – Shasha Brown ’13 (Wesleyan)
F – Brian Ellis ’11 (Bates)
F – Luke MacDougall ’11 (Trinity)
F – Michael Russell ’11 (Colby)
C – Andrew Locke ’11 (Middlebury)

*NESCAC Player of the Year*
C – Troy Whittington ’11 (Williams)

*NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year*
C – Andrew Locke ’11 (Middlebury)

*NESCAC Rookie of the Year*
G – Aaron Toomey ’14 (Amherst)

*NESCAC Coach of the Year*
Jeff Brown (Middlebury)

1 comment

  1. Congratulations and well deserved. He is a great kid that should be at the Division 1 level. Way to make everyone a believer .

Comments are closed.