Coach Fennie Receives Dave Williams Award for National Coach of the Year

Greensboro College Golf Coach Fennie Receives Dave Williams Award for National Coach of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Greensboro College head men’s golf
coach Dirk Fennie was recognized on Friday with the Dave
Williams Award presented by Eaton Golf Pride in
conjunction with the Golf Coaches Association of America
(GCAA). Fennie earned the award as the Division III
National Coach of the Year.

Fennie led Greensboro College to the NCAA Division III
championship in 2011. In addition to claiming the
national title, The Pride won its season opening event at
the Golfweek Invitational and also claimed the OMNI
Financial Intercollegiate.

Greensboro College only placed outside the top five twice
in ten events. Fennie was also tabbed the USA South
Athletic Conference Coach of the Year. Three golfers
earned PING All-America honors.

“I am very excited about this honor but feel that I still
have a lot to learn as a coach,” Fennie commented. “I
love working with the guys and helping them maximize their

Fennie joins fellow 2011 recipients Josh Gregory of
Augusta State, Jason Owen of Cal State Monterey Bay, David
Lynn of Oklahoma Christian, Mike Hagen of Indian Hills and
Tom Ferris of John A. Logan.

Dave Williams Award Presented by Eaton Golf Pride

Division I – Josh Gregory, Augusta State
Division II – Jason Owen, Cal State Monterey Bay
Division III – Dirk Fennie, Greensboro College
NAIA – David Lynn, Oklahoma Christian
NJCAA Division I – Mike Hagen, Indian Hills
NJCAA Division II – Tom Ferris, John A. Logan

Eaton Golf Pride Region Coaches of the Year

Division I
Northeast – Colin Sheehan, Yale
East – Josh Gregory, Augusta State
Southeast – Jay Seawell, Alabama
Midwest – Mike Small, Illinois
Central – Mike McGraw, Oklahoma State
West – Ryan Donovan, San Diego State

Division II
East – Stephan Ferrara, St. Thomas Aquinas
Atlantic – Fred Joseph, IUP
Southeast – John Hackney, Barton
South – Chris Greenwood, Lynn
Midwest – Troy Halterman, Missouri-St. Louis
South Central – Mike Campbell, Abilene Christian
Central – Bud Anderson, Fort Lewis
West – Jason Owen, Cal State Monterey Bay

Division III
Northeast – Bill Beaney, Middlebury
Mid-Atlantic – Bob Simms, St. John Fisher
Southeast – Mike Phillips, Emory
Great Lakes – Brian Lane, Transylvania
Central – Jim Maguire, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
West – HC Tran, Texas Lutheran

North – Chris Winkle, Grand View
South – USC-Beaufort
Central – David Lynn, Oklahoma Christian
West – Paul Thompson, Lewis-Clark State

NJCAA Division I
District I – Grant Waltke, Pima CC
District II – James Black, New Mexico JC
District III – Mike Hagen, Indian Hills CC
District IV – Sean Covich, Meridian CC

NJCAA Division II
East – Darin Pint, Kirkwood CC
Central – Tom Ferris, John A. Logan
West – Jake Harrington, South Mountain