Four Elon Players Named to 2011-12 NABC Honors Court

ELON, N.C. – Four Elon men’s basketball players were named to the 2011-12 National Association of Basketball Coaches Honors Court, recognizing those collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during this past season. Recent graduate Drew Spradlin and rising seniors Egheosa Edomwonyi, Brett Ervin and John Moody each received the honor. Out of the 12 Southern Conference institutions, 11 players were recognized from a total of three schools.

The NABC Honors Court recognizes the talents and gifts that these men possess off the court as well as the hard work they exhibit in the classroom. In order to be named to the Honors Court, an athlete must be a junior or senior and have completed at least one year at his current institution, achieve a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the school year and be a member of an NCAA Division I, II, III or NAIA institution.

Spradlin, who finished his career with over 1,000 points, graduated with a degree in political science. Edomwonyi and Ervin are both studying accounting at Elon, while Moody is earning his degree in environmental science and statistics.