names T.J. Logan North Carolina high school Player of the Year for 2012

*****Courtesy of Denan King at Logan photo at the site and CONGRATULATIONS TJ LOGAN(Northern Guilford High School….*****

It is with great honor that the staff of announce the winner of the 2012 Arnold R. Solomon Award for the North Carolina High School Football Player of the Year to running back T.J. Logan of Northern Guilford High School.

Logan, a 5-10 180 senior has led the Nighthawks to three straight 3AA State Championships. The standout rushed for 3,270 yards with 48 touchdowns this season.

In the 3AA State Championship game, he led Northern Guilford to a 64-26 win over Charlotte Catholic. Logan, who was the game MVP, broke the North Carolina state rushing record in a game with 510 yards and scored 8 touchdowns (championship record).

Recently, ranked him as the 69th best prospect in the country. He has verbally committed to North Carolina.

“T.J. Logan has had a remarkable high school career. He has won numerous awards and three state championships. One thing that sets T.J. apart is that he is a humble kid and knows that he couldn’t do what he does without his teammates. The performance in this year’s state championship was probably the best I’ve ever seen. He has great vision and speed. He will be a very successful in whatever he does,” stated Deana King, Publisher of

The Arnold R. Solomon Award was started in 2010 in honor of Mr. Solomon, who was the founder of and North Carolina Prep Football News, Inc. Solomon, who resides in Kannapolis is a long-time high school sports historian and was known state-wide for his Fearless Freddie Farkel football predictions. He also started the North Carolina Prep Football News Yearbook, which is the best source of NC high school information around.

“Arnold retired back in 2009 and I wanted to do something to honor him for all his work dealing with the student athletes. This was a no-brainer to name the award after him,”said King. would like to thank News14 Carolina for being the official sponsor of and this award.

Former winners
2010 QB Marquise Williams – Mallard Creek HS
2011 RB Todd Gurley – Tarboro HS