Looking for Nominations(Basketball)

We are looking for your nominations for the Fan’s Favorites for Player of the Year and if you have any nominations, leave them here in this box or send them to us at andy@greensborosports.com…HIt me with those E-mails and as always, your name will go unpublished if choose to E-mail us direct…

We try and make it a fun contest for you the reader and we hope to have the ballots finalized and start the voting by Wednesday afternoon….

We will try and keep the nominees to five per category, but if we have do deeper with the lineup/roster we will do so….

Looking for input on these type of categories and you may or may not agree with some of the names that we have listed here….
We are looking for Guilford County players for the most part, but we do have to veer outside Guilford County for our private school awards….If we get enough outside Guilford County nominees for a separate boys and girls category, then we will crank one up….

(Again these aren’t the final nominees and you have to remember when the voting begins, it will be ‘open voting’ and that will determine the ‘Fans Favorites’ for Player of the Year and for Coach of the Year)….

Boy’s Public School Player of the Year
Some of the names to be looking at:
Jeremy Harris(Page)
Carmoni Marks(Western Guilford)
BJ Pittman(Dudley)
Nick Powell(Northwest Guilford)
James Stepp(Ragsdale)
JJ Watson(Smith)
Quayson Williams(Eastern Guilford)
Todd Withers(Northeast Guilford)
*****Probably a few more names that we could be looking at, but we do try and limit the spots to one player per school…Left anybody out?*****

Girls Public School Player of the Year
Briana Burgins(Southwest Guilford)
Aliyah Griange(Northern Guilford)
Paris Kea(Page)
Makayla Rouse(Dudley)
Imani Watkins(High Point Andrews)
*****Maybe some others we are leaving out, but this looks like a Top Five list….*****

Private School Boys
T.C. Daniels(Vandalia Christian)
Ryan Johnson(New Hope Christian Academy)
Darius Moore or Bryan Rouse(Greensboro Day School)
Joey McLean(High Point Christian)
Theo Pinson(Wesleyan)
Kanayo Obi-Rapu(New Garden Friends School)
Spencer Wilson(Bishop McGuinness)

Girls Private School
Julia Brown or Cameron Nieter(Bishop)
Raelen Davis(Vandalia Christian)
Peyton Kadlecek(Caldwell Academy)
Kristina King or Katherine Harris(New Hope Christian)
Tamera Thorpe or Caroline Spurr(Greensboro Day School)

Coach of the Year Boys
James Able(Page)
Keith Gatlin(Wesleyan)
Jerrod Harris(Western Guilford)
Curtis Hunter(Northeast Guilford)
Lee Reavis(Northwest Guilford)
Craig Shoemaker(Ragsdale)
Joe Spinks(Eastern Guilford)
*****There may be other nominations that we may be missing…*****

Girls Coach of the Year
Kim Furlough(Northern Guilford)
Darlene Joyner(Northwest Guilford)
Shawyn Newton(Southeast Guilford)
Brian Robinson(Bishop McGuinness)
Delaney Rudd(New Hope Christian Academy)
Nick Scarborough(Southwest Guilford)
John Shearin(High Point Andrews)
Ren Stewart(Caldwell Academy)

*****Give us some input and we will work to get it down to five per category by Wednesday afternoon….*****


  1. Coach of the Year Boys: Has got to be Jerrod Harris over at Western Guilford.I have had the pleasure of watching this his team number of times this past seasons and he has put his stamp on that program and have them going in the right direction. You can tell Coach Jerrod and his staff had a vision for that program and he is doing it without stealing players from others schools like most in Guilford county. Not the same WG program from the past for sure

    Boy’s Public School Player of the Year: Jeremy Harris
    Girls Public School Player of the Year: Imani Watkins, led her team to a state title. nuff said

  2. The player and coach of the year should generally come from teams that either won or got to the championship game. Other than Page, all of the other categories are represented by teams that made it or won in the championship game. Each of these players will play major college basketball within the near future and their teams required them to be the best on the court every night.

    Boys public: Jeremy Harris (Page).

    Girls public: Imani Watkins (HP Andrews).

    Boys private: Theo Pinson (Wesleyan).

    Girls private: Tamera Thorpe (Greensboro Day).

    Coach public: John Shearin (HP Andrews).

    Coach private: Keith Gatlin (Wesleyan).

Comments are closed.