Devin Sweet(Southeast Guilford HS/North Carolina Central University) named to Freshman All-American Team

from North Carolina Central Eagles’ baseball press release:


LYNCHBURG, Va. – Devin Sweet of North Carolina Central University is one of 34 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country to be selected to the 2015 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced Monday (June 8).

“This is a tremendous honor for Devin,” said NCCU head baseball coach Jim Koerner. “We are all very proud of his accomplishments. We are looking forward to his continued success and growth as a person and baseball player.”

A native of Greensboro, North Carolina and graduate of Southeast Guilford High School, Sweet earned NCBWA Freshman All-America Second Team honors as a utility player after starting as a pitcher, third baseman and designated hitter for the Eagles this season.

Sweet finished his rookie campaign with a team-best 2.93 earned run average in 15 appearances on the mound with 10 starts, earning a 4-2 record to top NCCU. In 67.2 innings pitched, he recorded a team-high 54 strikeouts while holding opponents to a .226 batting average.

At the plate, he led the Eagles with a .343 batting average, going 12-for-35 with three doubles, six RBI and four runs scored.

For a complete listing of the 2015 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team visit

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association’s official Web site,

NCBWA 2015 Freshman All-America Team

First Team
C Matt Whatley, Oral Roberts
1B KJ Harrison, Oregon State
2B Kyle Davis, West Virginia
3B Carl Stajduhar, New Mexico
SS Jake Bivens, Michigan
OF Reed Rohlman, Clemson
OF Stuart Fairchild, Wake Forest
OF Keston Hiura, UC Irvine
DH JJ Schwarz, Florida
UT Brendan McKay, Louisville
SP Alex Lange, LSU
SP Brian Brown, N.C. State
SP Drew Rasmussen, Oregon State
RP Jesse Stallings, LSU
RP Joe Ingle, East Carolina
RP Dylan Moore, Louisiana-Lafayette

Second Team
C Cory Voss, New Mexico
1B+ Ryan Stekl, Canisus
1B+ Gabe Snyder, Wright State
2B Kevin Merrell, South Florida
3B Trevor Ezell, Southeast Missouri
SS Matt Reardon, Florida Gulf Coast
OF Cal Stevenson, Nevada
OF Michael Giglotti, Lipscomb
OF Ryan Brown, College of Charleston
DH Austin Edens, Samford
UT+ Devin Sweet, North Carolina Central
UT+ Sean Watkins, Loyola Marymount
SP Michael Baumann, Jacksonville
SP Chris Mathewson, Long Beach St.
SP Griffin Canning, UCLA
RP Mitch Hickey, Oregon State
RP Kyle Nelson, UC Santa Barbara
RP Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt

+ – tie