William J. White Scholarship Fund 2017 Recipients

The Bill White Scholarship Fund was established in 1980 following Bill's death from cancer. Bill was responsible for starting Colt Baseball (15 & 16 year-olds) locally in 1965. This fund awards scholarships to former Colt Leaguers who are entering a college or university. The criteria include academic excellence, exemplary citizenship, and financial need. Bobby Dawson was the first recipient in 1981, and since then (including 2017) 237 scholarships have been awarded totaling over $ 200,000.

The amounts range from $500 to $2,000.

The 2017 recipients of the Bill White Scholarships are as follows:

Student               High School             College/University
Myles Alexander       High Point Central      East Carolina
Davis Brady           Western Alamance        UNC-CH or W
Mason Brady           Middle College @ UNC-G  VPI or NC State
Paul Bullock          Southwest Guilford      UNC-Chapel Hill
Quinton Conti         Page                    GTCC
Cameron Cotter        Northern Guilford       NC State
Chase Ebert           Eastern Alamance        East Carolina
Logan Fields          Northeast Guilford      Mount Olive
Jackson Larrick       Ragsdale                NC State
Jalen Pruitt          Dudley                  Winston-Salem State
Andy Ramirez          Southern Guilford       GTCC
Cameron Smith         Eastern Guilford        NC State
James Watkins         Page                    Appalachian State

The scholarships will be presented at approximately 7:30 PM between opening night games of the Colt East Zone Tournament at Stoner-White Stadium, located in Jaycee Park, on Wednesday night, July 26.

1 comment

  1. Congratulations to all of the winners, but especially to Camron Smith of Eastern Guilford. GO WILDCATS!

Comments are closed.