Elon’s Leavitt, May Named Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-American Scholars

NORMAN, Okla. – Elon University men’s golfers Jake Leavitt and Charlie May were recognized as two of 260 NCAA Division I members of the 2017 Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars team.

This marks the fourth consecutive year that a Phoenix golfer has earned a spot on the team and the first time in program history that multiple Elon golfers have been selected in the same season.

May is a finance major has cumulated a 3.89 GPA. This past season, he collected his first-career all-conference recognition earning a spot on the CAA All-Academic Team. The Topsfield, Mass. native, completed his junior campaign with four top-25 finishes and had a 74.80 stroke average. May was also Elon’s male recipient of the A.L. Hook Scholar-Athlete award at the Elon Athletics Banquet. The award is given to the junior or senior male and female student-athletes with the highest cumulative GPA.

Leavitt has a 3.59 GPA as a math major. During his junior campaign, he earned his first collegiate individual title sharing the accolade at the Phoenix Invitational at Alamance Country Club in Burlington in October. Leavitt was then named the CAA Golfer of the Week on October 19. The Woodstock, Md. native finished in the top-25 in seven of the 10 tournaments he competed. Leavitt completed the season with a 74.78 stroke average.

To be eligible for Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 50-percent of his team’s competitive rounds, have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, 78.0 in Division II, 78.0 in NAIA and 79.0 in Division III, and maintain a minimum cumulative career grade-point average of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

Elon’s All-Time Men’s All-America Scholars
1986 – Chris Dockrill
1990 – Richie Burke
1993 – Jim Arnold
1995 – Brian McArthur
1996 – Brian McArthur
1997 – Donough Forde
2000 – John Marshall
2001 – John Marshall
2002 – Ryan Loucks
2003 – Ryan Loucks
2004 – Ryan Loucks
2005 – Keith Orlen
2006 – Louis Rittberger
2010 – Phil Bartholomew
2014 – Will DiIanni
2015 – Jonathan DiIanni
2016 – Jonathan DiIanni
2017 – Jake Leavitt
2017 – Charlie May