Elon Celebrates Annual Athletics Banquet

ELON, N.C. – The Elon University Department of Athletics held its 47th annual athletics awards banquet on Monday, May 10 to recognize and remember many of the outstanding achievements of the 2020-21 school year.

Held online via social media for the second straight year, this year’s banquet maintained the tradition of addresses to student-athletes from Director of Athletics Dave Blank, each of the department’s head coaches and Elon University President Connie Book. All of Elon’s senior student-athletes were also commemorated with a staple of the Elon Banquet, the senior slideshow.

The following student-athletes are award winners from the 2020-21 Elon Athletics Banquet:

Department Awards
Student Service – Kendall Cage
Browne Memorial Sportsmanship Awards – Tristen Cox and Kayla Hodges
A.L. Hook Scholar Athletes – Duru Tasman and Maxwell Zucker
Stein H. Basnight Outstanding Female Athlete Award – Maria Ahm
Stein H. Basnight Outstanding Male Athlete Award – Kyle Frankel

Football Awards
Outstanding Offensive Player – Jaylan Thomas
Outstanding Defensive Player – Torrence Williams
Co-Outstanding Special Teams Player – Hunter Stephenson
Co-Outstanding Special Teams Player – Chandler Brayboy
Team MVP – Tristen Cox

Volleyball Awards
Top Newcomer – Gabi Croll
Most Improved Award – Claire Richey
Coach’s Award – Isabella Seman
Team MVP – Leah Daniel

Women’s Soccer Awards
Defensive Player of the Year – Abby Fusca
Midfielder of the Year – Beky Myers
Attacking Player of the Year – Carson Jones
Team MVP – McKenna Dalfonso

Men’s Soccer Awards
Academic Award – Charlie Kurz
Co-Leadership Award – Marco Vesterholm
Co-Leadership Award – Sam Bacon
Team MVP – Jeppe Jordoson

Women’s Cross Country Awards
Commitment to Excellence Award – Melissa Anastasakis
Team Builder Award – Bridget Kanaley
Most Improved Senior – Rachael Wesolowski
Team Health & Safety Award – Alexandra DeCicco
Team MVP – Maria Ahm

Men’s Cross Country Awards
Attitude of a Champion Award – Mark Szilagyi
Commitment to Excellence Award – Aidan Tierney
Most Valuable Freshman – Zane Jackson
Team MVP – Andrew Miller

Cheerleading Awards
All Female Team Rookie of the Year – Alexandra Aveno
Co-Ed Team Rookie of the Year – Kristina Gutierrez
All Female Team Coaches Award – McKenzie Boyd
Co-Ed Team Coaches Award – Joshua Lim
All Female Team MVP – Cameron Barnhardt
Co-Ed Team MVP – Zachary Wallace

Dance Team Awards
Rookie of the Year – Isabella Venziale
Coach’s Award – Hana Sedivy
Team MVP – Brielle Ricciardi

Men’s Basketball Awards
Coach’s Award – Simon Wright
Team Defensive MVP – Ikenna Ndugba
Team MVP – Hunter McIntosh

Women’s Basketball Awards
Coach’s Award – Duru Tasman
Best Offense Award – Saadia Munford
Best Defensive Award – Brie Perpignan
Team MVP – Saadia Munford

Women’s Track & Field Awards
Co-Outstanding Track Award – Scolasticah Kemei
Co-Outstanding Track Award – Melissa Anastasakis
Outstanding Field Award – Lauryn Carlton
Coach’s Award – Piper Jons
Team MVP – Maria Ahm

Men’s Tennis Awards
Leadership Award – Akram El Sallaly
Coach’s Award – Nicholas Campbell
Heart and Hustle Award – Camilo Ponce
Team MVP – Kyle Frankel

Women’s Tennis Awards
Fire of the Phoenix Award – Victoria Saldh
Most Inspirational – Sofia Edo
Team MVP – Lizette Reding

Men’s Golf Awards
Most Improved – Cristian Del Vecchio
Leadership Award – Josef Dransfeld
Coach’s Award – William Frodigh
Team MVP – Max Ferrari

Women’s Golf Awards
Leadership Award – Adel Vadkerti
Coach’s Award – Sophia Mancuso
Team MVP – Apple Ngamwong

Women’s Lacrosse Awards
Scholar-Athlete Award – Sara Bouwman
Team MVP – Paulina DiFatta

Baseball Awards
Top Newcomer Award – Cole Reynolds
Coach’s Award – Brian Edgington
Pitcher of the Year – Joe Sprake
Team MVP – Alex Iadisernia

Softball Awards
Best Offensive Player Award – Rebecca Murray
Top Pitcher – Kenna Quinn
Golden Glove Award – Gabi Schaal
Co-Phoenix Award – Megan Grant
Co-Phoenix Award – Claudia Penny
Team MVP – Ally Repko