Three From UNCG Women’s Soccer Named to SoCon All-Conference Teams

Three From UNCG Women’s Soccer Named to SoCon All-Conference Teams

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Three from the UNC Greensboro (UNCG) women’s soccer team were named to The Southern Conference (SoCon) All-Conference teams ahead of the quarterfinal round of the 2023 SoCon Tournament.

Senior Parker Sikora was named to the first team, while classmate Caroline Woods earned second-team recognition. Redshirt freshman Rachel Poplin was selected to the All-SoCon freshman team.

Parker Sikora

All-SoCon first-team defender

Senior | Defender | Elk Grove, California

Second career All-SoCon recognition
Has started and played in 15 games for UNCG this season
She scored her third collegiate goal in a 2-1 loss against Wofford
She also has one assist this season, to bring her career total to four.
As a left back, she is a key part of the back line and the Spartans’ five shutouts this season

Caroline Woods

All-SoCon second-team midfielder

Senior | Midfielder | Kernersville, N.C.

Second career All-SoCon recognition
She has started in 16 games, playing 18 in the Blue and Gold this season.
Has tallied a career-high of five goals this season for a career total of 13.
She recorded one assist this season for a career total of four.

Rachel Poplin

All-Freshman SoCon team midfielder

Redshirt Freshman | Midfielder | Winston Salem, N.C.

First career SoCon honor
She has started and played in 18 games for UNCG this season.
Tallying a career-high of one assists this season.
The Spartans women’s soccer team, who finished fifth in the SoCon, will open tournament play against No. 4 Furman, tomorrow, Friday, October 27th at 4 p.m. at the Catamount Soccer Complex in Cullowhee, North Carolina.

2023 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Team

Player of the Year – Isabella Demarco, So., F, Western Carolina
Defensive Player of the Year – Ashton Blair, So., GK, Chattanooga
Coach of the Year – Chad Miller, Western Carolina
Freshman of the Year – Reagan Fitzgerald, F, ETSU

First Team
F – Jada Moorman, Mercer
F – Kyla Reynolds, Samford
F – Isabella Demarco, Western Carolina
M – Sinoxolo Cesane, ETSU
M – Mackenzie Smith, Chattanooga
M – Naya Marcil, Western Carolina

D – Sydney Somogyi, ETSU

D – Parker Sikora, UNCG
D – Kylie Gazza, Samford
D – Becca Campbell, Western Carolina

GK – Ashton Blair, ETSU

Second Team
F – Reagan Fitzgerald, ETSU

F – Larkin Thomason, Mercer

F – Clarissa Salinas, Chattanooga

F – Ines Obradovac, Wofford
M – Shania Diaz, Furman
M – Caroline Woods, UNCG

M – Mary Raymond, Samford
D – Miya Poplin, Furman

D – Kelly Tuerff, Chattanooga
D – Sarah Engen, Western Carolina
GK – Leanne Trudel, Western Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Adrienne Trerotola, The Citadel

Reagan Fitzgerald, ETSU

Ava Matherne, ETSU

Ruby Teixeira, ETSU

Larkin Thomason, Mercer

Rachel Poplin, UNCG

Brigid McElderry, Samford

Fabia Reinschmidt, Chattanooga

Barrett Callejo, VMI

Sophia Goclowski, Western Carolina

Emma Soucy, Western Carolina

Courtesy of Kelly Couse
Strategic Communications Coordinator
UNC Greensboro